Recipients of the 2020 Inaugural HealthImpact DAISY Nurse Leader Award in Policy Announced

ANNOUNCING! The 2020 Recipients of the Inaugural HealthImpact DAISY Nurse Leader Award in Policy

The DAISY Nurse Leader Award in Policy was created to honor nurses whose work in policy advances compassionate care that improves the health of populations.  Five individuals and one team were selected by a national panel of healthcare policy experts.

Said Bonnie Barnes, FAAN, Co-founder and CEO of The DAISY Foundation, “ Seeing The DAISY Award applied to honor work that advances compassionate care through policy is a thrill we never imagined when we created DAISY 21 years ago. The impact of our first recipients in policy is important and sustainable, and it is an honor to launch this very special recognition with our friends at HealthImpact.”

Garrett Chan, PhD, APRN, FAAN, President of HealthImpact added “we want to congratulate the honorees and thank them for their dedication in advancing compassion in healthcare through their policy work.  Communities and populations of patients have benefited from their tireless efforts in ensuring holistic care.”



Sharon Dills, MSN, RN, HACP, Ascension, for developing and implementing a suicide risk assessment policy that focuses on a holistic approach designed to change perception about the population of those at risk for suicide and provides guidance and scripts for compassionately speaking with patients across the health system in 19 states and 145 hospitals.



Lacey Eden, MS, FNP-C, Brigham Young University College of Nursing for spearheading two legislative initiatives and a grassroots coalition campaign to require mandatory vaccine education for patients who exempt their children from receiving vaccines.


Annamarie Flick, MSN, RN-BC, NE-BC, ChristianaCare for ensuring equitable coverage of epinephrine auto-injectors for teenagers, advocating for the opening Delaware’s first prison nursery, and improving the ability for patients to be empowered at the end-of-life.



Mayor Dr. Beth Haney, DNP, FNP-C, FAANP, University of California, Irvine Student Health Center and the City of Yorba Linda for leading efforts in the COVID-19 response for Orange County and for leading efforts as a Board member of the YMCA of Orange County to provide services such as the afterschool program, teen suicide prevention, and the Dream Builders for Children with Cancer.


Laura Reichhardt, MS, APRN, AGPCNP-BC, University of Hawai’i at Manoa School of Nursing & Dental Hygiene and the Hawai’i Center for Nursing for improving access to care through the enactment of more than 25 bills in the Hawai’i State Legislature that allowed advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) to practice to the full extent of their education, increased the number advanced practice registered nurses working in medically underserved areas by 100%, and provided access to compassionate end-of-life care.





Deborah Hutts, MSN, RN, Sherrie Traffanstedt, BSN, RN, and Rebecca Bryan, BSN, RN, The COVID-19 Triage Team from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences for creating a walk through process for people who are homeless or reliant on public transportation that addressed not only patients’ COVID-19 concerns but also expanded care and consult services to address patients’ holistic physical, psychological, and social care needs.




The DAISY Foundation is a not-for-profit organization, established in memory of J. Patrick Barnes, by members of his family.  Patrick died at the age of 33 in late 1999 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP), a little known but not uncommon auto-immune disease. (DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System.)  The care Patrick and his family received from Nurses while he was ill inspired the creation of The DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nurses, an evidenced-based means of providing Nurse recognition and thanking Nurses for making a profound difference in the lives of their patients and patient families.

In addition to the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses, the Foundation expresses gratitude to the nursing profession internationally in over 4,500 healthcare facilities and schools of nursing with recognition of direct care Nurses, Nurse-led Teams, Nurse Leaders, Nursing Faculty, Nursing Students, Lifetime Achievement in Nursing and through the J. Patrick Barnes Grants for Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice Projects and Medical Mission Grants. More information is available at